Eylenbosch, Kobbegem

The story of the Eylenbosch brewery begins at the end of the 19th century in Schepdaal. Founder Emile Eylenbosch, born in 1861, was involved in brewing beer from a young age. He rented some buildings from Jean De Troch. When the latter terminated the agreement in the 1880s, Emile Eylenbosch informed him that he would build a new brewery across the Ninoofsesteenweg. One that would be three times bigger.

The establishment of the Eylenbosch brewery in 1886 was the start of the fierce competition between the Eylenbosch and De Troch families. From 1894 the new steam brewery was officially registered as the property of Emile Eylenbosch. Afterwards, the complex would expand further. The imposing brewing tower was built around 1930. 

For about a hundred years, the brewery was successfully run by successive generations of the Eylenbosch and Valkeniers families. In the late 1950s, many breweries in the Pajottenland had a hard time. The growing popularity of lagers, aheralded the downfall for the Eylenbosch brewery.

In 1975, the English group Whitbread became the new owner and tried to turn the tide in vain. In 1989 they sold Eylenbosch to the Mort Subite, which was itself 50% part of Alken-Maes at the time. In 1991, beer was brewed for the last time at Eylenbosch. Afterwards, the brewery only served as storage space, but the brewing installation was completely dismantled.

After years of vacancy, the site was finally renovated. By the end of 2022, the site will house 55 apartments, retail spaces, an underground car park and an open esplanade. With respect for the historical context, the Eylenbosch brewery will be a monument in Schepdaal more than ever.

This was the reason for Erik De Keersmaeker to bring Eylenbosch with the help of brewer-engineer Klaas Vanderpoorten and Jeroen Lettens, back to life after a hibernation of almost three decades,

Erik De Keersmaeker is the fifth generation of the renowned brewing family from Kobbegem. Initially he took a completely different path. He has built a successful career with large companies such as Mars, Kraft and Disney. But he has never forgotten his roots, because he grew up in a brewery.

During the interwar period, the De Keersmaeker family made Hert Ale (hence the deer in the current Eylenbosch logo). In the 1970s, André De Keersmaeker concluded an agreement with the Vossen family, owners of the well-known Brussels café À la Mort Subite, who also had their own gueuze blender, and took over the Mort Subite brand. He decided to launch a range of lambic, Gueuze and fruit beers under the name Mort Subite. The success that the De Keersmaeker brewery had with this beautiful brand and its interest and focus on this typical Brussels beer style, also ensured that they bought the Eylenbosch brewery in 1989. Eventually, the Alken-Maes group would take over all the shares of the family, but the building of the Eylenbosch brewery remained the property of the De Keersmaeker family for several years.

  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Oude Geuze 75cl

     8.65
  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Oude Geuze 37,5cl

    In stock

     7.54
  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Oude Kriek 37,5cl

     7.54
  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Schaarbeekse Oude Kriek 75cl

    In stock

     16.65
  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Schaarbeekse Oude Kriek 37,5cl

    In stock

     8.85
  • Add to cart

    Eylenbosch Oude Kriek 75cl

    In stock

     11.79

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Eylenbosch, Kobbegem

L’histoire de la brasserie Eylenbosch commence à la fin du 19ème siècle à Schepdaal. Le fondateur Emile Eylenbosch, né en 1861, brassait déjà de la bière dès son plus jeune âge. Il louait quelques bâtiments à Jean De Troch. Lorsque ce dernier a mis fin au bail dans les années 1880, Emile Eylenbosch lui a fait savoir qu’il comptait construire une nouvelle brasserie de l’autre côté de la rue. Une qui serait trois fois plus grande que la sienne.

La création de la brasserie Eylenbosch en 1886 a marqué le début d’une concurrence féroce entre les familles Eylenbosch et De Troch. À partir de 1894, la nouvelle brasserie à vapeur est officiellement enregistrée comme la propriété d’Emile Eylenbosch. Par la suite, le complexe sera agrandi à plusieurs reprises. L’imposante tour de la brasserie a été construite vers 1930.

Pendant une centaine d’années, la brasserie a été dirigée avec succès par les générations successives des familles Eylenbosch et Valkeniers. À la fin des années 1950, de nombreuses brasseries de la région du Pajottenland se trouvaient en difficulté. Pour la brasserie Eylenbosch aussi, la popularité croissante de la bière blonde, entre autres, annonçait la fin de son époque lucrative.

En 1975, le groupe anglais Whitbread a tenté en vain d’inverser la tendance en tant que nouveau propriétaire. En 1989, ils ont vendu Eylenbosch à la brasserie Mort Subite, qui était alors déjà actionnaire à 50 % d’Alken-Maes. En 1991, la bière a été brassée pour la dernière fois à Eylenbosch. Après, la brasserie n’a plus servi que d’espace de stockage, mais l’installation de brassage a été complètement démantelée.

Après des années d’inoccupation, le site a finalement été rénové. D’ici la fin 2022, le site offrira de l’espace pour 55 appartements, des espaces commerciaux, un parking souterrain et une esplanade en plein air. Et ce dans le respect du contexte historique, afin que la brasserie Eylenbosch soit plus que jamais un monument à Schepdaal.

Pour Erik De Keersmaeker, c’était l’occasion idéale d’unir ses forces à celles de Klaas Vanderpoorten, ingénieur-brasseur, et de Jeroen Lettens, ami de la fac, pour redonner vie à Eylenbosch après une hibernation de près de trois décennies.

Erik De Keersmaeker est la cinquième génération de la célèbre famille de brasseurs de Kobbegem. Au départ, il a choisi une voie complètement différente. Il a fait carrière au sein de grandes entreprises telles que Mars, Kraft et Disney. Pourtant il n’a jamais oublié ses racines ayant grandi dans une brasserie. Pendant l’entre-deux-guerres, la famille De Keersmaeker fabriquait par exemple la Hert Ale (d’où le cerf dans le logo actuel d’Eylenbosch). Dans les années 1970, André De Keersmaeker a conclu un accord avec la famille Vossen, propriétaire du célèbre café bruxellois À la Mort Subite, qui possédait également sa propre gueuzerie, et a repris la marque Mort Subite. Il a décidé de mettre sur le marché une gamme de lambics, de Gueuze et de bières aux fruits sous le nom de Mort Subite. Le succès que la brasserie De Keersmaeker a connu avec cette belle marque et son intérêt et sa concentration sur ce style de bière typiquement bruxellois l’ont également conduite à acheter la brasserie Eylenbosch en 1989. Finalement, le groupe Alken-Maes a repris toutes les actions de la famille, mais le bâtiment de la brasserie Eylenbosch restait la propriété de la famille De Keersmaeker pendant plusieurs années.

  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Oude Geuze 75cl

     8,65
  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Oude Geuze 37,5cl

    En stock

     7,54
  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Oude Kriek 37,5cl

     7,54
  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Schaarbeekse Oude Kriek 75cl

    En stock

     16,65
  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Schaarbeekse Oude Kriek 37,5cl

    En stock

     8,85
  • Ajouter au panier

    Eylenbosch Oude Kriek 75cl

    En stock

     11,79

Pin It on Pinterest

Partagez